Fruit Tart with Walnut Crust

I was told by a nutritionist at a work health info session several years ago that a general rule of thumb is to multiply your weight by 10 and that’s your recommended daily calorie intake. Obviously, to lose weight you need to consume fewer calories and to gain weight you need to consume more.

Luckily I’m not much of a snacker. I don’t do midnight refrigerator raids or eat a whole bag of chips in one sitting. I may have a few chips if the bag is open and being eaten by someone else right in front of me. I was able to break the habit of eating out of boredom by not buying snacks when I started doing my own grocery shopping in college. If it’s not in the house, I can’t eat it. Culinary school can add a few pounds to a person; it’s awfully difficult to say “no” to food when someone wants you to try their dish to check if it’s seasoned properly, or let those extra servings go to waste. And of course, something must be done with the chef’s demonstrations.

One of my main attraction to desserts is due to its superfluous nature; nobody will starve from lack of desserts – this extra fat and sugar is pure luxury. Therefore it better taste good – more than good, it should be absolutely delicious! Those extra calories better be worth it! But all right, I admit it. I was looking at low-calorie, low-fat, low sugar recipe ideas because I wanted to make dessert but didn’t want the calories associated with them. My wedding dress that I bought eight months ago was a little tight around the middle.

Cherry Fruit Tart

Cherry Fruit Tart

So that’s how I came across this fruit tart recipe here. It seemed popular enough and not only that, people liked it. The addition of walnuts in the crust seemed like a lovely idea. The nuts would add a very nice flavor to the crust. The filling of cream cheese and sour cream seemed reasonable enough, even fat-free versions of these are still fairly tasty. So I decided to give it a shot.

Instead of one large tart, I made four 5″ tarts with one recipe for portion control. All together it probably took less than hour to put the whole thing together. I had several varieties of fruits on hand already that could be used instead of blueberries – raspberries, strawberries, and cherries. It’s a nice way to add some variation. As you can see from the photos, I like to pile on the fruit, unlike the photo in the original recipe. The more fruit that’s piled on, the less sugar you need to add to the filling, right?

So the final question is, how did it taste? It actually tasted quite good. The next time I make it, I would add some spices to the crust – probably a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg, plus a bit of salt. I might also add a bit of lemon zest or juice, orange zest or juice, and/or vanilla to the filling to give it some extra flavor. But what really does it for me is the fruit, piled on nice and high.

Leave a Reply

